The Price of Experience and Expertise

I was in a similar situation as the carpenter in the story below, and so I decided to post this up.  The moral of this story, in my opinion,  is when you do something you are good at, do it your best whole-heartedly.  When the time comes, your experience and expertise will be rewarded.

There is a  man who has a squeak on his home staircase. Every day he comes home, his wife takes the opportunity to remind him that he said he would fix it. Running out of time, he hires a carpenter just to get it done and finally bring some quiet to his household.

man who has a squeak on his home staircase. Every day he comes home, his wife takes the opportunity to remind him that he said he would fix it. Running out of time, he hires a carpenter just to get it done and finally bring some quiet to his household
The carpenter arrives, walks up then down the stairs, takes out his hammer, and quickly hammers in a nail to quiet the noise. He then hands his bill to the man who promptly looks at it and says “$60???, all you did was hammer in a nail! I could have done that myself.” Then as he looks closer, the bill says “hammer in a nail – $2, knowing where to put the nail – $58.

6 Responses to “The Price of Experience and Expertise”

  1. 🙂 good story that. I think your right with that moral..doing things to the best of one’s ability..thats what makes things enjoyable (atleast to me 😉 )

  2. Good story. I interpreted something else from the story – if you do well at what you do, you can deservedly charge more (:

  3. gudel83 Says:

    I like it. Totally agree with you. 🙂

  4. pricey, indeed 🙂
    Junda, lol.

  5. interesting material, where such topics do you find? I will often go

Leave a comment